About the Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation

The Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation (IPLC) is a voluntary union of 13 sovereign academic libraries: Brown University, the University of Chicago, Columbia University, Cornell University, Dartmouth College, Duke University, Harvard University, Johns Hopkins University, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, the University of Pennsylvania, Princeton University, Stanford University, and Yale University.


For the benefit of current and future scholars globally, the Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation leverages our collective assets to improve discovery of and access to information, and its innovative use at scale for the creation of new knowledge, and exercises collective action and leadership in helping shape the discourse around scholarly communication, and the outcomes of that discourse.

Strategic Priorities

  1. Collaborative Resource Sharing & Discovery
  2. Collaborative Collection Development & Management of Collections
  3. Collaborative Leadership to Change the Scholarly Communication System

Programs & Initiatives

IPLC Program: A University Librarian-approved collaborative, ongoing effort of the partnership with significant resources (e.g. dedicated Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation staff) beyond existing staff of member institutions.

IPLC Initiative: A University Librarian approved collaborative effort managed by the staff of the Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation’s member institutions.